logo web

Das IDM Veranstaltungsprogramm

Einen Kernpunkt der Aktivitäten des IDM bildet unser umfassendes Veranstaltungsprogramm.
Das IDM organisiert Seminare, Symposien, Vorträge, u.v.m., um eine breite öffentliche Diskussion aktueller, den Donauraum, Mittel- und Südosteuropa betreffender Themen zu ermöglichen.

Veranstaltung  Montag, 04. Juli 2022

Regional perspectives on the war in Ukraine


Draft 1 Regional Perspectives on the War in Ukraine

Regional perspectives on the war in Ukraine

International conference organised by 

the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe (IDM), 

the Institute of European Integration and Regional Studies at the Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University and 

the Center for the Study of Conflict & Peace at the University of Osnabrück

04 July 2022 

15:00 – 18:00 CEST / 16:00 – 19:00 EEST

Programme

Questions after the unjustified attack of the Russian Federation against Ukraine developed from “how could we let this happen” through “what can we do to help” to “when will it end”? As the war is ongoing for almost four months, three institutions from Chernivtsi, Osnabrück and Vienna bring together experts to talk about the situation in Ukraine as well as the implications in the wider Danube Region. 

15:00 CEST / 16:00 EEST Welcome by the organisers

15:15 CEST / 16:15 EEST First Panel: Assessing the dynamics of the war: Military, political & humanitarian situation in Ukraine

Key aspects for Inputs & Discussion: Assessing the dynamics and situation of the war, of Russian operations and Ukrainian defence; assessing the bilateral “talks”; political and humanitarian situation in Ukraine (issues of IDPs, encircled areas, war crimes), situation of Ukrainian government, (war) economy & military, role of international/European support for Ukraine, prospects for the future (regionally and in the EU).

Panelists:

Anatoliy Kruglashov (Yuriy Fedkovych National University of Chernivtsi) 

Nadija Afanasieva
(UIIP Kyiv) 

TBA 

Moderator: Sebastian Schäffer (IDM)

Followed by open discussion among other invited experts & audience 

16:15 CEST / 17:15 EEST Coffee break

16:30 CEST / 17:30 EEST Second Panel: Assessing consequences & prospects: The war and the wider Danube Region

Key aspects for Inputs & Discussion: Assessing the situation and debates in the region/different countries, political & military support for Ukraine, refugee situation, economic and social effects of the war, political repercussions and societal perceptions (changing relationships to Ukraine and the Russian Federation), regional security concerns, sustained support or “fragile solidarity” with Ukraine, role of EU/NATO in the region, prospects & scenarios for the future (based on the potential outcomes of the war)   

Panelists:

Minna Ålander (SWP Berlin) 

Andreas Umland (Stockholm Centre for Eastern European Studies at the Swedish Institute of International Affairs/Kyiv) 

Mihai-Razvan Ungureanu (IDM/Romanian Centre for Russian Studies at University of Bucharest) 

Moderator: Ulrich Schneckener (University of Osnabrück)

Followed by open discussion among other invited experts & audience 

17:45 CEST / 18:45 EEST Final Concluding remarks by the organizers   

18:00 CEST / 19:00 End of conference

The Conference will be held as a webinar on Zoom and will also be livestreamed on the YouTube Channel IDMVienna

For participation as well as exchange and discussion with the experts, registration is necessary: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_HpLsgn00QaiooeDLP8tRog

  • Beginn: Montag, 04. Juli 2022, 15:00 Uhr
  • Ende: Montag, 04. Juli 2022, 18:00 Uhr
  • Ort: Online - Zoom Webinar
  • Auskunft: Sebastian Schäffer
  • Auskunft E-Mail: s.schaeffer@idm.at
  • Anmeldung: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_HpLsgn00QaiooeDLP8tRog

Podcast Player

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell für den Betrieb der Seite, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und die Nutzererfahrung zu verbessern (Tracking Cookies). Sie können selbst entscheiden, ob Sie die Cookies zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei einer Ablehnung womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen.