Danubius Award 2022

November 10, 2022
16:00 - 17:30 CEST/CET

The Danubius Award was created in 2011 by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Research (BMBWF) and the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe (IDM) to honor people with extraordinary achievements who have made a special contribution to the Danube region in their scientific work or in their work.

The prize is divided into two categories

A) The Danubius Mid-Career Award
This prize is awarded to researchers from 5 to a maximum of 15 years after their last formal scientific degree or equivalent scientific experience, whereby years of suspension of the scientific career are taken into account with appropriate proof.

B) The Danubius Award
This award is independent of formal age limits or the number of years since the last formal scientific degree or the respective status in the scientific world – and is awarded exclusively with reference to the overall scientific merits in and around the Danube region.

The Danubius Award is intended to contribute to the better visibility of the Danube region and to the increased perception of its multidisciplinary challenges and potentials; accompanied by the encouragement to deal with it on a scientific level.



16:00 Welcome messages

Ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Polaschek
Austrian Minister of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF)

Mag. Barbara Weitgruber
Director-General for Scientific Research and International Relations (BMBWF)

Mag. Friedrich Faulhammer
Chairman of the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe


16:15 Danubius Awards

Prof. Dr. Phil. Diana Mishkova
Danubius Award Winner

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Jens Schmitt
University of Vienna

Assoc.-Prof. Dr. Tamara Martsenyuk
Danubius Mid-Career Award Winner

Dipl.-Kulturw.Univ.Dr. Christina Plank
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna


16:45 Danubius Young Scientist Award

Prof. Zdravko Kačić
President of the Danube Rector’s Conference
Rector of the University of Maribor

Prof. Miroslav Vesković
Joint Research Centre, European Commission

Presentation of Danubius Young Scientist Award Winners


17:30 End of Ceremony 



Mag. Sebastian Schäffer, MA, Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe